Print Page | Sign In | Join
News: SEAOC News

SEAOC at the NCSEA Summit

Monday, December 18, 2017  
On October 11-14, 2017 NCSEA hosted its Annual Summit in Washington DC.  SEAOC was well-represented with 50 Californians in attendance, including SEAOC President: Janah Risha; NCSEA Incoming President: Bill Warren; NCSEA Director: Emily Guglielmo; SEAOC Delegates to NCSEA: Ryan Kersting, Michelle Kam-Biron, and Norm Scheel; SEAOC Structural Standards Committee Chair: Kevin Moore.

Highlights of the Summit included:

Delegate Interaction Breakfast: SEAOC Delegates partnered with neighboring Delegates from Oregon and Washington to compete in a straw-tower building challenge.  While SEAOC’s team did not win, they represented the West Coast honorably.

Delegate Collaboration Session: The Delegate Collaboration Session brought Delegates from MOs across the nation together to share, discuss, and problem solve.  This year, the session focused on “Success Stories” from MOs across the country.  The topics included: 1) Launching Diversity, Equity, and Engagement Initiatives by Northern California (SEAONC), Illinois (SEAOI), and New York (SEAoNY); 2) The Quest for SE Licensure by Oklahoma (OSEA); 3) Neighboring States Coming Together by Montana (SEAMT) and Idaho (SEAI); 4) NCSEA and SEA Collaboration by Tennessee (TNSEA). 

Technical Sessions: Educational sessions were held over 2 days, with SEAOC members lecturing in the following sessions: Shaking Up DC: An Insiders Perspective (Terrence Paret), ASCE Panel on How to Improve ASCE 7 (Ron Hamburger), Introduction to the SEAOC Wind Design Manual (Emily Guglielmo and Steve Kerr), NEHRP Recommended Seismic Provisions (Kevin Moore), Structural Engineering Engagement and Equity (SE3) (Nick Sherrow-Groves and Angie Sommer), Solar Photovoltaic Systems in ASCE 7-16 (Joe Cain), Basics of Shear Wall Design (for Young Members) (Michelle Kam-Biron)
Mentorship Events: A speed-mentoring event was hosted for the 75 Young Members in attendance.  Among the mentors for the event were SEAOC members Ryan Kersting, Jim Malley, Emily Guglielmo, and Ashraf Habibullah.
Awards: At the Awards Banquet, SEAOC projects were well represented with winning projects coming from the following California firms: Tipping Structural Engineers, John A. Martin & Associates, LPA, Inc., Skidmore, Owings & Merrill, LLP, Degenkolb Engineers, Arup, ZFA Structural Engineers, Maffei Structural Engineering, Holmes Structures.  In addition to the project awards, the NCSEA Service Award was bestowed on Jim Malley, for his tireless work and advocacy on behalf of NCSEA and SEAOC.  Congrats to Jim!
Committee Meetings: Committee meetings were held on Wednesday before the Summit, with in-person SEAOC representation at the following committee meetings: General Provisions, Seismic (Chaired by Kevin Moore), Wind, Existing Buildings,  Resiliency (Chaired by David Bonowitz), Communications (Chaired by Emily Guglielmo), Basic Education (chaired by Kevin Dong), Continuing Education, Young Member Group Support Committee, SE3 (Chaired by Angie Sommer and Nick Sherrow-Groves), Publications, Licensure, and Structural Engineering Emergency Response (SEER).
For more information on the 2017 NCSEA Summit go to And be sure to mark your calendar for the 2018 NCSEA Summit in Chicago on October 24-27.